SHORT SUMMARY OF THE COMPANY

DPD Germany is part of DPDgroup, the largest international parcel delivery network in Europe. Throughout Germany DPD has 79 depots and 7,000 Pickup parcelshops. A workforce of 9,500 and 11,000 delivery drivers are in daily operation on behalf of the company’s customers. Every year the No. 2 on the German parcels market ships around 375 million parcels – providing carbon-neutral transport operations at no additional cost to the customer. With a number of initiatives for sustainable parcel delivery DPD is demonstrating, particularly in city centres, how parcel shipping can be made environmentally friendly and emission-free at a local level. 

SCOPE OF THE PROJECT

Since the beginning of the year, DPD has been delivering shipments in Berlin using the company’s three-wheeled e-cargo bike.

The CEP service provider wants to advance the mobility revolution and sees great potential in the ONO to make the “last mile” more efficient, lower in emissions and more cost-effective.”Right now, our sustainability strategy ‘DrivingChange’ aims to reduce CO2 emissions by 89 percent and nitrogen oxide emissions by up to 80 percent by 2025 compared to 2020. Freight bike providers like ONOMOTION are therefore an important partner for us in achieving our goals,” says Gerd Seber, Group Manager Sustainability & Innovations at DPD.

In the capital, DPD operates a micro-depot in Prenzlauer Berg and delivers to households within a radius of five kilometers from there with two ONOs. The collaboration will initially run for one year.

FIRST CONCLUSIONS

DPD’s delivery staff can comfortably sort parcels in the morning at the weather-protected micro-depot located in a former car repair shop and load them into the detachable container-module of the e-cargo bike.

An additional advantage is the adjacent filling station with a 75KW high-performance charging station, which can also be used by the vehicle. There is also a modern battery exchange station from the Berlin-based battery-as-a-service provider Swobbee on the site. With the help of this, DPD delivery staff can replace empty batteries with full ones in a matter of seconds.

The e-cargo bikes from ONOMOTION are therefore always mobile, and DPD does not have to set up or operate its own charging infrastructure. With two batteries, the pedelecs have a range of around 60 kilometers and a top speed of up to 25 kilometers per hour.

For DPD, ONOMOTION GmbH’s Vehicle-as-a-Service model is proving to be a decisive advantage in daily delivery. In addition to a maintenance service, the all-round service includes comprehensive insurance and any wear-and-tear repairs. So far, all e-cargo bikes have proven to be reliable vehicles. “Minor repairs have been taken care of within a very short time. ONOMOTION has also provided a replacement vehicle within a few hours,” says Bernhard.

After the first three months, DPD’s interim conclusion is extremely positive: “We are particularly impressed by ONOMOTION’s stable vehicle components and after-sales service,” says Michal Bernhard, Specialist Process & Development at DPD. This service includes, among other things, maintenance, comprehensive insurance, any wear-and-tear repairs, and access to the battery exchange machines.

Kurze Zusammenfassung des Unternehmens

DPD Deutschland gehört zur internationalen DPDgroup, Europas größtem Paketdienst-Netzwerk. DPD hat deutschlandweit 79 Depots und 7.000 Pickup Paketshops. 9.500 Mitarbeiter und 11.000 Zusteller sind täglich für die Kunden im Einsatz. Im Jahr transportiert die Nummer 2 im deutschen Paketmarkt mehr als 400 Millionen Pakete – und das vollständig klimaneutral, ohne Mehrkosten für die Kunden. Mit zahlreichen Initiativen zur nachhaltigen Paketzustellung zeigt DPD insbesondere in den Innenstädten auf, wie sich der Paketversand umweltfreundlich und lokal emissionsfrei gestalten lässt.

UMFANG DES PROJEKTES

Seit Anfang des Jahres stellt DPD in Berlin Sendungen mit dem dreirädrigen E-Cargobike des Berliner Unternehmens zu.

Der KEP-Dienstleister will die Mobilitätswende voranbringen und sieht in der ONO großes Potenzial, die „letzte Meile“ effizienter, emissionsärmer und kostengünstiger zu gestalten. „Unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie ‚DrivingChange‘ sieht vor, bis 2025 die CO2-Emissionen im Vergleich zu 2020 um 89 und die Stickstoffoxid-Emissionen um bis zu 80 Prozent zu reduzieren. Lastenradanbieter wie ONOMOTION sind deshalb ein wichtiger Partner für uns, um unsere Ziele zu erreichen“, sagt Gerd Seber, Group Manager Sustainability & Innovations bei DPD.

In der Hauptstadt betreibt DPD am Prenzlauer Berg ein Mikrodepot und beliefert von dort aus mit zwei ONOs Haushalte in einem Radius von fünf Kilometern. Die Zusammenarbeit gilt zunächst für ein Jahr.

ERSTE SCHLUSSFOLGERUNGEN

In dem wettergeschützten Mikrodepot in einer ehemaligen Autowerkstatt können die Zusteller von DPD morgens bequem Pakete sortieren und in das abnehmbare Containermodul des E-Cargo-Bikes laden.

Als zusätzlicher Vorteil erweist sich die angrenzende Tankstelle mit einer 75KW-Hochleistungsladesäule, die auch von dem anliefernden Elektrotransporter genutzt werden kann. Zudem befindet sich eine moderne Akku-Wechselstation des Berliner Battery-as-a-Service-Anbieters Swobbee auf dem Gelände. Mithilfe dieser können die DPD-Zusteller in Sekundenschnelle leere Akkus gegen volle austauschen.

Die E-Cargobikes von ONOMOTION sind somit stets mobil, und DPD muss keine eigene Ladeinfrastruktur errichten sowie betreiben. Die Elektrominitransporter verfügen mit zwei Akkus über eine Reichweite von rund 60 Kilometern sowie einer Höchstgeschwindigkeit von bis zu 25 Kilometern in der Stunde.

Für DPD erweist sich das Vehicle-as-a-Service Modell der ONOMOTION GmbH als entscheidender Vorteil in der täglichen Zustellung. Der Rundumservice beinhaltet neben einem Wartungsservice eine Vollkaskoversicherung und eventuelle Verschleißreparaturen. Bislang haben sich alle E-Cargobikes als zuverlässige Fahrzeuge erwiesen. „Kleinere Reparaturen wurden innerhalb kürzester Zeit erledigt. ONOMOTION hat auch ein Ersatzfahrzeug binnen weniger Stunden zur Verfügung gestellt“, sagt Bernhard.

Nach den ersten drei Monaten fällt das Zwischenfazit von DPD äußerst positiv aus: „Wir sind vor allem von den stabilen Fahrzeugkomponenten und dem After-Sales-Service von ONOMOTION überzeugt“, sagt Michal Bernhard, Specialist Process & Development bei DPD. Dieser Service beinhaltet unter anderem die Wartung, eine Vollkaskoversicherung, eventuelle Verschleißreparaturen und den Zugang zu den Akkutausch-Automaten.